"I declare there is no enjoyment like reading." -Jane Austen

Upcoming Events 

Where's Waldo?

JULY: Where's Waldo in Washington Depot! 

Calling all kids—young and old…..

It’s that time of year again. Waldo is back and this time he has brought his dog, Woof, with him.

Pick up a Passport at The Hickory Stick Book Shop, find Waldo in the participating local businesses and collect a store signature or stamp. He’s not always easy to find and he moves during the night so he’s never in the same spot from day to day!

Participating businesses in the Where’s Waldo Local scavenger hunt are The Hickory Stick Bookshop, Apple Tree Design Depot, Best Monogram, Green Hill Home & Garden, Huntington and Hope, J. McLaughlin, Liberty Lemonade, Litchfield Bancorp, Marty's Cafe, The Matthews Group, National Iron Bank, The Pantry, Grape in the Shade, Union Savings Bank, Washington Art Association, Washington Food Market, Washington Outdoor Living, Table Dressings, The Washington Pizza House, NuSport, Washington Health Center & Pharmacy, and Washington Supply Company.

Don’t forget to also look for Woof, Waldo’s dog, when you are in the Hickory Stick Bookshop. He’s hiding somewhere!

Plan to attend the Waldo Celebration and Prize Party at 2:00 pm on July 31 at

The Hickory Stick Bookshop

 

We found Waldo was hiding at The Washington Pizza House (left), The Pantry (center), and The Matthews Group (right)!

 

 

 



Our Young Adult Book Club (recommended for ages 14 and up) will be meeting on Thursday, July 24th at 5:30pm to discuss If I Stay by Gayle Forman (soon to be a major motion picture!). Our Young Adult book club is open to all and no registration is required, so please feel free to read the book and join in on the discussion! Questions? Please call 860-868-0525.
"In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen ­year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck." Read more...

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Penderwicks August 11th - 5pm - The Hickory Stick's Not-So-Secret Readers' Society Discusses The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

The Not-So-Secret Reader's Society (The Hickory Stick's children's book club) is suggested for ages 8-12 (and any parents who want to join!), but all are welcome to join this non-exclusive club!

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures. Read more...

 

 

 

 

 

New Releases

After Everything Michelangelo Double Agent Travels with Casey Marina

Homeroom Diaries


New In Paperback

Valley of Amazement Identical  Help for the Haunted  Doomed  Enon  The Police 

 

Video of the Week:

Book Trailer: Homeroom Diaries by James Patterson

 

 

 

Shelf Awareness for Readers

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Reading Group Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.
Syndicate content