You don't need to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them. -Ray Bradbury

Good GriefWednesday, October 8th - 12PM - Meet an Author for Lunch - Ellen Stimson - Good Grief

Ellen Stimson, author of Mud Season, will provide food for thought as she discusses her new book Good Grief during our Meet An Author For Lunch program at The Hickory Stick Bookshop on Wednesday, October 8th from 12:00 to 1:30pm.

This luncheon is free with the purchase of either of Stimson's titles, Mud Season or Good Grief. For those not purchasing the book, the cost of the luncheon is only $10.00. A book signing will follow the discussion. Read more...

 


Friday, October 10th - 6:30PM - Author Signing with Andy Thibault - More Cool Justice

Join us at 6:30 for an evening of music followed by a reading, discussion, and booksigning with Andy Thibault author of More Cool Justice, a second collection of hard-hitting essays credited with helping to free a woman unjustly convicted of first degree murder. And more music! Read more...

 

 

 

Saturday, October 11th - 2PM - Author Signing with Sandra Waugh - Lark Rising

Sandra Waugh will be at The Hickory Stick to sign copies of her new book, Lark Rising, on Saturday, October 11th at 2pm. Lark has foreseen two things--she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes, and he will kill her. Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore. Read more...

 

 

 

Saturday, October 11th - 4PM - Signing & Drawing Demonstration with Illustrator Doug Cushman - Pumpkin Time!

Join us for an afternoon of fun with Doug Cushman, as he presents a drawing demonstration while discussing his newly illustrated book, Pumpkin Time written by Erzsi Deak on Saturday, October 11th at 4pm! Read more...

 

 

Edward Hopper Paints His WorldSunday, October 12th - 2PM - Booksigning with Wendell Minor - Sequoia, Edward Hopper Paints His World, and Galapagos George

Come in and meet Wendell Minor who will be signing copies of his three most recently illustrated books: Sequoia, Edward Hopper Paints His World, and Galapagos George. His other works will also be available. A great event for children and their parents! Please call to reserve your copy if you are unable to attend. Read more...

 

 

New Releases

The Zone of Interest Enough How We Got to Now You A Sudden Light

The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher

 

New In Paperback

 
  The New American Herbal Bringing Up Bebe The Mouse-Proof Kitchen The Museum of Extraordinary Things  

 

Video of the Week:

Book Trailer: Good Grief by Ellen Stimson - Signing on October 8th at noon!

 

 

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Reading Group Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Shelf Awareness for Readers