"I declare there is no enjoyment like reading." -Jane Austen

Upcoming Events 

Where's Waldo?

JULY: Where's Waldo in Washington Depot! 

Calling all kids—young and old…..

It’s that time of year again. Waldo is back and this time he has brought his dog, Woof, with him.

Pick up a Passport at The Hickory Stick Book Shop, find Waldo in the participating local businesses and collect a store signature or stamp. He’s not always easy to find and he moves during the night so he’s never in the same spot from day to day!

Participating businesses in the Where’s Waldo Local scavenger hunt are The Hickory Stick Bookshop, Apple Tree Design Depot, Best Monogram, Green Hill Home & Garden, Huntington and Hope, J. McLaughlin, Liberty Lemonade, Litchfield Bancorp, Marty's Cafe, The Matthews Group, National Iron Bank, The Pantry, Grape in the Shade, Union Savings Bank, Washington Art Association, Washington Food Market, Washington Outdoor Living, Table Dressings, The Washington Pizza House, NuSport, Washington Health Center & Pharmacy, and Washington Supply Company.

Don’t forget to also look for Woof, Waldo’s dog, when you are in the Hickory Stick Bookshop. He’s hiding somewhere!

Plan to attend the Waldo Celebration and Prize Party at 2:00 pm on July 31 at

The Hickory Stick Bookshop

Thank you to all the businesses who took part in Where's Waldo in Washington Depot!:

 

 

Best Monogram

 

 

NuSport

Huntington & Hope

The Washington Art Association

The Litchfield Bancorp

The Union Savings Bank

 

 

The Washington Pizza House

The Pantry

The Matthews Group

 

 

The Washington Health Center & Pharmacy

The Washington Outdoor Living Center

Table Dressings

 

 

Grape in the Shade

Green Hill Home & Garden

The Washington Supply Co.

 

 

The Washington Food Market

National Iron Bank

J. McLaughlin

The Hickory Stick Bookshop

Marty's Cafe

Liberty Lemonade

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Penderwicks August 11th - 5pm - The Hickory Stick's Not-So-Secret Readers' Society Discusses The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

The Not-So-Secret Reader's Society (The Hickory Stick's children's book club) is suggested for ages 8-12 (and any parents who want to join!), but all are welcome to join this non-exclusive club!

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures. Read more...

 

 

 

 

 

New Releases

Lucky Us A Spy Among Friends The Fortune Hunter The Nixon Tapes Big Little Lies

The Nixon Defense


New In Paperback

Unbroken The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion  How the Light Gets In  Badluck Way  The Smartest Kids in the World  The War that Ended Peace 

 

Video of the Week:

Book Trailer: The Magician's Land by Lev Grossman

 

 

 

Shelf Awareness for Readers