Candidly Cline (Hardcover)

Candidly Cline Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A must-read for fans of Julie Murphy and Ashley Herring Blake, this queer coming-of-age story from critically acclaimed author Kathryn Ormsbee sings with heart, warmth, and hope.

Born in Paris, Kentucky, and raised on her gram’s favorite country music, Cline Alden is a girl with big dreams and a heart full of song. When she finds out about a young musicians’ workshop a few towns over, Cline sweet-talks, saves, and maybe fibs her way into her first step toward musical stardom.

But her big dreams never prepared her for the butterflies she feels surrounded by so many other talented kids—especially Sylvie, who gives Cline the type of butterflies she’s only ever heard about in love songs.

As she learns to make music of her own, Cline begins to realize how much of herself she’s been holding back. But now, there’s a new song taking shape in her heart—if only she can find her voice and sing it.

“Empowering, affirming, and sweet as all get-out.” —Lisa Jenn Bigelow, author of Drum Roll, Please

About the Author


Kathryn Ormsbee was born and raised in central Kentucky. She now lives in the Pacific Northwest with her wife and their pup. She is the author of several books for young readers, including Candidly Cline, The House in Poplar Wood, and The Water and the Wild. You can find her online at www.kathrynormsbee.com.

Praise For…


“Like a perfect country song, CANDIDLY CLINE sings a sweet and empowering tune of hope, friendship, and the beauty that comes from chasing seemingly impossible dreams. Cline Alden is my hero.”
— Ashley Herring Blake, Stonewall Honor author of Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World

“Confident, candid, and immensely endearing. Destined for the spotlight.” 
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Warm and hopeful."
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Lyrical and full of country twang. Cline is a relatable tween protagonist who shows readers what it takes to live authentically and be true to yourself.” 
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Thrums with the joy of weaving your heart’s whispers into a song for all to hear. Empowering, affirming, and sweet as all get-out.”
— Lisa Jenn Bigelow, author of Drum Roll, Please 

"Cline Louise Alden is a character you can't help but cheer for in this endearing story about finding your voice and pursuing your dream. A tender exploration of the power of different kinds of love and making your own music."
— Nicole Melleby, author of How to Become a Planet

“An inspiring combination of self-awareness, bravery, and passion”
— Horn Book Magazine
Product Details
ISBN: 9780063059993
ISBN-10: 0063059991
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: November 9th, 2021
Pages: 320
Language: English