The Scholar: A Novel (Paperback)

The Scholar: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


From the author of The Ruin comes a compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed.

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal--her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy--it has even funded Emma's own ground-breaking research.

As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy?

A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

About the Author


Dervla McTiernan was born in Ireland and now lives with her family in Australia, where she works for the Mental Health Commission. She is also the author of The Ruin.

Praise For…


Praise for The Scholar

"There are shades of Ross Macdonald in McTiernan's sophomore novel: an austere patriarch, successive generations of a family manifesting the same flawed gene, a self-crippling lust for power, money, and status. . . . A complex, densely plotted murder investigation." 
—The Irish Times

“The complexities of the relationships within the [police] department, and the tensions between Reilly and Emma, are rich enough to carry the reader through this story and into the next one. McTiernan’s cautionary tale about money, prestige, and the secretive world of pharmaceutical research will resonate with many.” 
—Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143133698
ISBN-10: 0143133691
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: May 14th, 2019
Pages: 384