The King of Fools (Pushkin Vertigo #16) (Paperback)

The King of Fools (Pushkin Vertigo #16) By Frédéric Dard, Louise Lalaurie (Translated by) Cover Image
By Frédéric Dard, Louise Lalaurie (Translated by)
Email or call for price
Out of Print - Not Available

Other Books in Series

This is book number 16 in the Pushkin Vertigo series.

Description


A fiendish tale of passion, betrayal, and murder in Edinburgh, Scotland—from the master of French noir

Jean-Marie can't believe his luck when he has a passionate triste with a beautiful young Englishwoman, Marjory, who is holidaying in the Côte d'Azur. But when he discovers she is married, he is crestfallen. When she returns to her home in rainy Edinburgh, he is heartbroken. He decides to take the biggest gamble of his life: he follows her.

No sooner has Jean-Marie arrived in Scotland than his luck runs out. Marjory’s husband is a jealous man—and a deadly encounter is only the beginning of a nightmarish, disorienting drama in the grey-granite labyrinth of the city.

About the Author


Frédéric Dard (1921-2000) was one of the best known and loved French crime writers of the twentieth century. Enormously prolific, he wrote more than three hundred thrillers, suspense stories, plays and screenplays, under a variety of noms de plume, throughout his long and illustrious career, which also saw him win the 1957 Grand prix de littérature policière for The Executioner Weeps, forthcoming from Pushkin Vertigo. Dard's Bird in a Cage, The Wicked Go to Hell, Crush and the The Gravediggers' Bread are also available or forthcoming from Pushkin Vertigo.

Praise For…


"sure to appeal to fans of Agatha Christie, Raymond Chandler and Georges Simenon. . . A slim novel with laconic prose and a stunning plot, The King of Fools will keep many a mystery lover up too late--and waiting eagerly for the next novel of Dard's to be translated into English." -- Jessica Howard, bookseller at Bookmans, in Shelf Awareness

"A book about a love story gone bad … charming and engaging far beyond the plot details." — International Crime Fiction

"The French master of noir." -- The Observer

"Alongside the Maigret novels of Georges Simenon there is a rich vein of period French crime still to be tapped. Frédéric Dard is a case in point." -- Daily Mail

"The literary descendant of Simenon and Celine." -- Le Figaro

"No question: for me, he was the greatest." -- Philippe Geluck

"France's most popular post-war author." -- L'Express

"His language is cutting, his point-of-view original and his verdict uncompromising... One of the few twentieth-century authors to win both critical acclaim and great popularity." -- Solidarité Militaire
Product Details
ISBN: 9781782271970
ISBN-10: 178227197X
Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
Publication Date: September 5th, 2017
Pages: 193
Language: English
Series: Pushkin Vertigo