Pulitzer Prizes

Started in 1917, the Pulitzer Prizes are awarded to 21 writers, musicians, and photographers. Joseph Pulitzer, founder of the awards, was himself an American journalist of great skill and passion.

2013 Winners 

Fiction: The Orphan Master's Son by Adam Johnson

History: Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America's Vietnam by Fredrik Logevall

Biography or Autobiography: The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo by Tom Reiss

Poetry: Stag's Leap by Sharon Olds 

General Non Fiction: Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America by Gilbert King 

Music: Partita for 8 Voices by Caroline Shaw 


Pulitzer Prizes Website